A Series of Unfortunate Thoughts

I know that Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events is intended for an age group much younger than  mine, but I don’t care! I love reading it anyway. That being said, I’m having trouble reading them this time around. I have been having a lot of problems with depression so my mom, a professional life coach, has been teaching me various therapeutic/positive thinking techniques to get me back on track. Part of what she teaches is that you have to be positive as much as possible because the vibration you put out will attract more of the same. I am trying to follow this as closely as possible so that I can truly move forward in my life, so I have a dilemma. I very much want to keep reading these books, but they keep making me seriously frustrated at how badly everything keeps going. In theory, if I keep getting frustrated I will attract more to make me frustrated which is not something I want. Perhaps I should just read happier short stories between books so I can stay cheerful.

I can’t help but notice that there are so many things that the children and the adults in their lives could do to get away from Count Olaf. It would be really easy for them to have very happy lives if they just took charge a bit. I realize that they are minors and have no control over their fortune but they could take charge of smaller aspects of their lives and live very happily. Of course, if they did, the series wouldn’t really be as awesome… It makes it even worse that the adults who are supposed to be the “good guys” are actually kind of assholes. Someone should have noticed that Sunny was hanging from a cage out of a window and Uncle Monty should have noticed that his assistant was seriously creepy and stopped being so condescending when the children were obviously scared. I mean, people are supposed to interview the people who are working for them first. It would have been seriously obvious. Plus, why is his assistant living with him? It’s a little random and suspicious. I don’t actually want to poke holes in this series because I like it a lot. It can just get frustrating at times.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

